Share your LOVE of reading
Give the gift of literacy. Become a volunteer tutor.

Since 1978 the Literacy Council of Sarasota has engaged in “Each One, Teach One” to help build a more literate community. Won’t you help share your love of reading with someone who can’t? Become a literacy volunteer.

No foreign language skill or teaching experience required. Volunteers will receive 19 hours of online training. by a ProLiteracy-Certified tutor trainer.

2022 Training Schedule

January

  • Monday, Jan 10
    9:00-12:30 
  • Wednesday, Jan 12
    9:00-12:30 
  • Friday, Jan 14
    9:00-12:30 
  • Tuesday, Jan 18
    9:00-12:30
  • Thursday, Jan 20
    9:00-12:30

Follow-Up Session
Wednesday, Feb 23  9:00-11:00 

February

  • Monday, Feb 7
    9:00-12:30 
  • Wednesday, Feb 9
    9:00-12:30 
  • Friday, Feb 11
    9:00-12:30 
  • Tuesday, Feb 15
    9:00-12:30
  • Thursday, Feb 17
    9:00-12:30

 Follow-Up Session
Monday, Mar 21 9:00 – 11:00

March

  • Monday, Mar 7
    9:00-12:30 
  • Wednesday, Mar 9 
    9:00-12:30 
  • Friday, Mar 11
    9:00-12:30 
  • Tuesday, Mar 15
    9:00-12:30
  • Thursday, Mar 17
    9:00-12:30

Follow-Up Session
Monday, Apr 11  9:00-11:00

April

In-Service Training will be Offered
Schedule to be Determined

May

  • Monday, May 2
    9:00-12:30 
  • Wednesday, May 4
    9:00-12:30 
  • Friday, May 6
    9:00-12:30 
  • Tuesday, May 10
    9:00-12:30
  • Thursday, May 12
    9:00-12:30

Follow-Up Session
Monday, Jun 13  9:00-11:00 

June

  • Monday, Jun 6
    9:00-12:30 
  • Wednesday, Jun 8
    9:00-12:30 
  • Friday, Jun 10
    9:00-12:30 
  • Tuesday, Jun 14
    9:00-12:30
  • Thursday, Jun 16
    9:00-12:30

 Follow-Up Session
Monday, Jul 18 9:00 – 11:00

July

  • Monday, Jul 11
    9:00-12:30 
  • Wednesday, Jul 13 
    9:00-12:30 
  • Friday, Jul 15
    9:00-12:30 
  • Tuesday, Jul 19
    9:00-12:30
  • Thursday, Jul 21
    9:00-12:30

Follow-Up Session
Monday, Aug 22  9:00-11:00

August

In-Service Training will be Offered
Schedule to be Determined

September

  • Monday, Sep 12
    9:00-12:30 
  • Wednesday, Sep 14
    9:00-12:30 
  • Friday, Sep 16
    9:00-12:30 
  • Tuesday, Sep 20
    9:00-12:30
  • Thursday, Sep 22
    9:00-12:30

Follow-Up Session
Monday, Oct 24  9:00-11:00 

October

  • Monday, Oct 10
    9:00-12:30 
  • Wednesday, Oct 12
    9:00-12:30 
  • Friday, Oct 14
    9:00-12:30 
  • Tuesday, Oct 18
    9:00-12:30
  • Thursday, Oct 20
    9:00-12:30

 Follow-Up Session
Monday, Nov 15 9:00 – 11:00

November

  • Monday, Nov 7
    9:00-12:30 
  • Wednesday, Nov 9
    9:00-12:30 
  • Friday, Nov 11
    9:00-12:30 
  • Tuesday, Nov 15
    9:00-12:30
  • Thursday, Nov 17
    9:00-12:30

Follow-Up Session
Monday, Dec 19  9:00-11:00

December

In-Service Training will be Offered
Schedule to be Determined

Pre-registration is required.
To register contact Susan Bergstrom, Program Director at
(941) 243 – 0722 or email  sbergstrom@sarasotaliteracy.org.

Materials are provided.
There is a $25.00 materials fee to help offset the cost of materials provided for the training.

All training will be held at:
Glasser/Schoenbaum Human Services Center,
1750 17th Street, Bldg. J, Sarasota Fl
Get Directions