Board of Directors & Staff

Dynamic, responsible leadership starts at the top, and The Literacy Council of Sarasota (LCS) is fortunate to have a strong Board of Directors whose role is to provide oversight, strategic guidance, and policy direction to sustain the organization’s mission. LCS’ Board of Directors is a cohesive team of professionals who volunteer their time and efforts on a monthly basis.

Edward Carthew, President Instructor, George Washington University

Edward Carthew, President
George Washington University

Ann Miller, PMP, Vice PresidentProject Management Professional

Ann Miller, PMP, Vice President
Project Management Professional

Rev. Matthew Grady, SecretaryChaplain and Instructor, Cardinal Mooney Catholic High School

Fr. Matthew Grady, Secretary
Chaplain and Instructor,
Cardinal Mooney Catholic HS



Carol J. Darling, Director, Past President Retired School Administrator

Carol J. Darling, Ph.D., Director,
Past President 
Retired School Administrator


Elizabeth DiMartino, DirectorDirector of AdmissionsSarasota Christian School

Elizabeth DiMartino, Director
Director of Admissions, Sarasota Christian School

Sachit Gali, Youth Director STAR Leadership

Sachit GaliYouth Director
STAR Leadership


Linda T. Jones, Ph.D. Retired School District, State Department and University Administrator

Linda T. Jones, Ph.D., Director
Retired School District, State Dept. and Univ. Administrator

Vicente Medina, Director Insurance Executive

Vicente Medina, Director
Insurance Executive

G. Pat Wilson, Ph.D., Director Assoc. Director for AssessmentSchool of Education, USFSM

G. Pat Wilson, Ph.D., Director
Associate Director for Assessment,
School of Education, USFSM



Not pictured: Jane Govoni, Ph.D., DirectorNada Vanous, Director; and Ashley Salter, CPA, Director



Tom Melville, Executive Director

Tom Melville 
Executive Director

Susan Bergstrom, Program Director

Susan Bergstrom